top of page

8/18/87


Tuesday August 18, 1987…...my parents welcomed me into the world. It’s a 99% chance that I was an oops baby….somebody thought they were going through the change but nope surprise baby girl #3,Thanks mom! It’s hard to believe I’m ending the era of my 20’s. My 20’s were everything! I’ve been reflecting over the past few weeks and damn...all I can say is thank you! Thank you God for this life, this opportunity to live my best life, thankful for love, and thankful for the lessons, grateful to pursue my craft, I am thankful for growth. There were so many memorable moments from the last decade. I graduated college, the first from my immediate family (still hard to believe that seeing as how I partied so much and after being on academic probation) I pulled it together and received my B.A. I met some of the most amazing people who will be lifelong friends especially my roommate/ bestie/ partner in crime Rosalyn who passed away August 18, 2013. It’s because of her that I make sure I celebrate my birthday every single year! I owe her that much, to celebrate this life I was given. Her untimely passing made me realize nothing in life is guaranteed. I miss her everyday;that girl knew how to live and laugh out loud. So salute to you Rozie I love you always and forever. This weekend I will give up my best twerk for you because that's how we do! After college I entered a career in education that has molded me and taught me the importance of determination, patience, and discovering purpose.. Last summer I finally got a passport and visited outside of the country. It was beautiful to be with the same friends I’ve had for nearly 15 years. I suffered a great loss last year losing my father to cancer 1 week after his diagnosis. We had just reestablished our father/daughter relationship prior to his passing, which made it even more difficult. In life sometimes there's not enough time; I will always be at peace knowing we did our best, and I know I was loved despite of everything. He would always tell me, “Sambino you’re the only 1 of my kids I never have to worry about.” Knowing he left this world proud of me helps me deal. You’re gone but know you left your mark on me Norm. I love you always dad,and no I couldn’t go back in the house for your picture(inside joke). As i approached the end of the 20’s era, I experienced a transitional phase. The biggest lesson I learned was sometimes keep somethings for yourself, put the phone down , close the app, don’t tweet it, don’t update your status. Some of my best moments never made it to social media. Some nights I stay up late on the phone, laughing at the most minimal things and it brings me joy in the morning. I wake up looking forward to what the day has to offer me instead of dreading a to-do list. I have a new found appreciation for the simple things in life. I found my passion and purpose which are one in the same. Part of that was rediscovering my passion for writing, and using my voice to help someone else. Because let’s be honest your girl can talk. This blog has allowed me to be free, vulnerable, and honest in ways I haven’t done before. I will always carry with me the power of my voice, the confidence to stand up for something I believe in no matter if it's the popular opinion no matter what. As I close this chapter I thank everyone who has been apart of this wild ride with me! I feel mentally stronger, wiser,more connected. It hasn’t always been easy but I’m here and I’m better today than I was yesterday. Live your life honest, bold, and with passion! Happy 30th birthday to me !!

-XOXO Sam

bottom of page