top of page

What Happened to Thanksgiving?

Did you peel the yams yet for the pies? Who left the refrigerator open?....Now the damn potato salad is warm. Sam, we don’t use paper/plastic cups for the holidays that’s tacky, go reset the table the right way. Under my breath,”Yea and it saves me time washing all 8,000 dishes once company fills their bellies and go home.” What you say? Nothing ma, let me guess you wanna use the gold cutlery set? ” I’m going upstairs to change my clothes, I’ll be back in a minute. I lay across my bed and put on the Macy’s parade because, I know once all the family gets here..pure chaos.

Man I miss those days of being worked like a dog for Thanksgiving dinner. Spending 2-3 day in the kitchen cooking me mommy and my sister, music and lots of laughs and the few family arguments. I swear those two could have an argument about anything...I waited for it, that was my entertainment. When life was simple. We would wait for the older people to get tipsy because we could almost bet who would be the extended family members to get into a heated argument. It was only a matter of time once the first bottle was cracked. Times have changed since then many of the cousins have moved away, the babies are young adults and don’t help in the kitchen at all.

The biggest difference now is my mom no longer celebrates holidays which definitely changed the whole flow of the holiday season. No more pajamas and earrings under the tree, no more staying up cooking all night and up having a beer for breakfast on Thanksgiving morning. I had to take the reigns a little bit on the family planning the past few years which absolutely sucked! I can truly appreciate the sacrifices my mom made preparing all the holiday fixings for us growing up. I always looked forward to the holiday season there's a certain warm fuzzy feeling. It’s such a different time now. We start celebrating Christmas November 1st. In the words from the Peanuts series ”It’s not even Thanksgiving yet!” We literally skip Thanksgiving! Don’t get me wrong I love love love winter wonderlands and all the Christmas fanfare. Between Macy’s and all shopping malls, too soon even for a Christmas enthusiast like myself. Last weekend , first weekend of November, I walk into a department store... full on winter explosion. I Iooked outside and it was a sunny 50 degrees. I was so tempted to buy a box of ornaments and my holiday pajamas, but I passed... this time. It made me think,, what happened to Thanksgiving? When did we vote it off the island and just fast forward to Christmas? Do we no longer see the value in the Thanksgiving traditions? Do you and your family/friends still go all out for Thanksgiving? I want to know !

During this season of giving and kindness, The stores are so thirsty for customers they interrupt the after dinner family time with Black Friday sales on the holiday. How selfish and money hungry our economy has become. It's sad when you really think about it.

Another thing that's difficult is suffering from anxiety, depression, and other mental illnesses during the festivities. The holidays can be stressful or bring up some not so happy moments from the past. Falling into a holidaze ( I made this word up) or seasonal depression is quite common during the happiest time of year. I fall victim to it every year which is why I get so into decorating, making cards, and crafting. Those activities keep me distracted from internal struggles, and calms my anxieties. Many of us are displaced from our families, have lost a parent, and it is very difficult to enjoy these family oriented occasions. This year I may not cook at all...I might just book a flight and go somewhere. TBD.

As always I have some tips to keep you holly jolly this year. No the answer is not booze !

  1. If you are feeling depressed, suicidal,or sad do not drink heavy alcohol! It’s easy to fall deeper into these feelings when you’re under the influence. There’s an upper alternative that I won’t mention...

  2. Make an effort not to isolate yourself. We want to be alone, cry self loathe but doing that won’t help you!

  3. Spend some times doing something you enjoy, shop, read a new book, do some cleaning. Clearing clutter always makes me feel better.

  4. Don’t over analyze gift giving! Don’t go broke and don’t lose your mind trying to find the perfect gift for everyone on your list. Make it simple do a Secret Santa exchange and keep the budget at a reasonable price.

  5. Planning and having a routine and stick to it as much as possible. Having a plan alleviates the hectic schedule for work holiday parties, family gatherings etc. Plans sometimes go off course but try to stick with it.

Keep yourself well, you are important! This is a happy time. Don't forget to be thankful and enjoy this holiday season !

bottom of page