top of page

Model 101

Back straight, shoulders out,chest out, stomach in...all the way in. I don’t care if you’re 5 feet tall or 2 feet tall you better walk like you have the longest legs in the world. Then pop goes her hand straight across my calf,” wider strides” she said! I could hear Mama Marie’s voice echoing in my head as I approached the runway. First ,lets back it up to the beginning. I first started modeling when I was about 5 it started with pageants, then evolved into hair shows, and then fashion shows. I was about 12 when I really got serious about modeling and I quickly learned the model world wasn’t all rainbows and unicorns. Even at that age there were rarely any clothes available in my size, I was usually the biggest girl on the runway and the shortest. To add to that, a lot of girls weren’t as willing to be helpful and guide the chubby girl.

I quickly learned I would have to advocate for myself, be the fiercest, have the best beats makeup (not headphones) and have the most confidence because the odds were stacked against me.The benefit of modeling from an early age, I learned the game. Fast forward to now, I’m just making my way back into the modeling scene and a lot has changed since the days of “T” runways, and basic model stance. I was intimidated about getting back into modeling with this new era of Instagram Models. No shade but if you have enough followers, and a ton of likes almost anybody can be considered a model now. Growing up in the 90’s era you had classes, coaches, auditions, full on model bootcamps, and it was hard! I watched supermodels like Tyra Banks, Naomi Campbell, Iman those were moooooodels ok?! What happened to the basics?

As I’m prepping for a busy season of fashion shows, auditions, and hosting events I review show footage and critique myself. As I scroll down my timeline, I see models and sometimes I think , “How could she not know you’re wearing the wrong underwear?” “Deodorant marks on a designers garment?!” Instead of scrutinizing I want to be helpful and share some of my model pro tips. I do not want another model to be left in that dark on the basics so pay attention I’m dropping some jewels every model should know.

  1. Always have the essentials! You can never be too ready when it comes to being a model and having all necessary items. Ladies always have black, nude, and metallic shoes in your bag! No matter what color your garment is more than likely they’ll match at least 1 pair of your shoes. Have essential clack.neutral color tanks/camis/leggings black Just in case someone needs you to model a jacket or accessories. Also have jewelry, tape/pasties if needed, hair care needs,hygiene products etc. These are some basic items every model should have. (There are plenty more items needed in a model bag)

  2. Never ever wear white deodorant or perfume/body sprays. You don’t want stains or scents on a designers garment. Garments are items designers intend to sell. Do not I repeat do not put on scented perfumes on a designers clothes. Wear clear unscented deodorant to prevent staining. If necessary wear armpit guards to prevent sweat stains.

  3. Learn how to beat your own face. Things happen backstage all the time. The MUA (makeup artist) may be running late, has too many models to service. Maybe they don’t show up at all. Things like this happen all the time, be prepared. You don’t have to be the best at makeup but learn how to do a simple natural look.

  4. Have the appropriate underwear/shapewear. Listen ladies, if you have on a white shirt I should not see a red bra underneath! If your dress is strapless you should not have on a sports bra period! It may sound far fetched but I’ve seen these things on more than 1 occasion. If your dress is form fitting, have on a smoothing undergarment. Your job as the model is to make the garments look good.

  5. Hygiene I can’t stress this enough. Make sure you are thoroughly bathed and properly cleaned before you put on anyone's clothing. Make sure your hair is clean, and your face is cleaned and moisturized before getting all glammed up. I have no problem going into the bathroom at any event with my travel kit. Ladies keep it clean! If you’re on your menses, please be mindful of your sanitary needs. When wearing swimwear please insert a tampon/wear a liner to keep your fluids off the garments and because sanitary. Sounds like a bit much but I guarantee your designers will thank you.

  6. All opportunities are not created equal I encourage you to work and build up your portfolio, but have your standards. Work with an array of designers,photographers,artists. Be mindful of who you showcase your talents with. When you start off you’re hungry and eager to work which is a good thing,but do some background research first. No matter what, you reserve the right to be selective about who you work with. Every showcase is an opportunity, be sure you’re apart of something that is positive and will have a positive impact on your career. Think about other show producers and scouts and how they’ll view you based on your work. Be aware of photographers, unfortunately there are lots of creeps snapping Iphone shoots offering them up for a quick buck. If you feel awkward or uncomfortable please leave! That’s all I’ll say about that.

  7. Be versatile In every aspect of the word. Be open to hairstyles, makeup looks, artistic concepts. Don’t be afraid to try new looks its apart of the fun of being a model. Photographers and show producers appreciate a model who’s open to adapting to changes. Styling varies from person to person. You may feel a look is super ridiculous but it’s not about you. You are a muse.

  8. Be on time Whether it’s a shoot, a show, an audition be on time. If the designer is late, the show is behind ,you be there and ready. In some instances photographers/MUA’s/Hairstylists upcharge for tardiness. Time is $$$

  9. Don’t be afraid to take a leap and go into unchartered territory. Sometimes out of town auditions and shows could be just what you need. It can be intimidating being in an unknown environment with new people. I’m still learning this as I go but networking with as many people in the industry is beneficial on so many levels.

  10. It’s not about you Sorry to say but when you’re a model you are but a canvas my dear. The runway is the moment for you to sell sell sell! Show off the garment it’s about the designers design. This is not your moment unless other specified. Be graceful be fierce but remember you were booked to sell a product whether its cosmetics, hair, clothes, etc. Your job is to make a sale.

In the words of Tim Gunn, “Make it Work” The modeling industry is forever evolving. Make sure you are following people in your industry on social media. Watch for trends and what’s new in the industry. You deserve to shine . Please remember these simple tips and go be bright!

EveryBODY deserves a spot on the runway. If all else fails, get back to the basics!

bottom of page