top of page

The Month of May

Since 1949, the United States has recognized “Mental Health Awareness” during the month of May. During this month long campaign, there are health care screenings, forums, webinars, & additional community outreach and resources. I think the most important thing we can do is to change the conversation surrounding the stigma of mental health. This year, Mental Health America recognizes the importance of companionship of pets, spirituality and religion, work life balance, and making social connections.

Most people dealing with mental health issues have difficulty in social situations. No matter if you have depression, bipolar disorder, anxiety being social can be over stimulating. How do we normalize the conversation surrounding social anxieties, when being social makes you uncomfortable? It’s an uphill battle trust me!

When I began having my therapy sessions, I came up with a plan to help combat some of my anxieties. This was homework I assigned myself which meant, accountability.

My first challenge to myself, do at least one thing that makes me uncomfortable once a month. So once a month I’ll go out, audition for something, try something new.

My second challenge to myself (which I haven’t been so successful) meditate daily. I will take that much needed break once I’ve had a stressful day or just need time with my thoughts. I’m going to do better with this because it really helps.

Third challenge, be mindful of my space. Now this I have been conscious of. I limit the energies I let into my home, I sage with the window/doors open of course. (you need an opening to let those unwanted energies straight out ) I am more aware of where I spend my time, what places give me peace and bring me calm.

Fourth, letting my creativity be free. I write more, I create more content. As long as I have ideas, express them. I’ve created decorations, set up for events, practiced photography, read more books. Let that stifled energy out which brings me to my next challenge….

Final number five, release sexual energy being more acquainted with my feminine sex energy. Believe it or not sexual release is necessary and releases pinned up emotions. It’s pretty much my replacement of prescribed medications. Don’t knock it until you’ve tried it. Dealing with anxiety and seasonal depression can take a toll on the sex drive and overall intimacy. Basically, in addition to your already present treatment plan add more sex and thank me later. Do not use sex as the only therapy you engage in it all goes together. (We’ll get more into this later stay tuned) Or you could go workout….I’ll leave that up to you guys to decide.

I’m proud to declare it has been two years since I stopped taking prescription drugs for my depression and anxiety. I decided to take a more holistic approach to helping myself. In no way am I healed and all better but I am so much better than I was a year ago. I often struggle with containing my anger (which is new), keeping myself calm in uncomfortable situations, so my struggle continues but I’m always working on new techniques to better my situation.

To all of my readers who are struggling know this, it is not a one shot deal. It will take months maybe years to find out what works best for you. Do not be afraid to try new things, to try new approaches. Be persistent and intentional about taking care of yourself. I think the difference this time was how I paced myself and chose healthcare providers who were relatable, who looked like me. Mental health is so important and we need to be proactive on how we treat ourselves and others that may be struggling. I was shocked when my therapist told me I’m too critical of myself which triggers my anxiety even more. So I am trying to be more delicate with myself. Work, friends, family can all be stressful just keep your focus on yourself and being and healthy as you can physically, and mentally.

If you are interested in hearing about how my journey with mental health began take a peek at my first three blogs on the site!

Statistics courtesy of :MentalHealthAmerica.net

⅕ adults have a diagnosed mental illness

Youth mental health cases rose from 5.9% to 8.2 % in 2015

56% of Americans struggling with mental health refuse treatment

bottom of page