top of page

Autumn leaves

Fall is my favorite time of year. The leaves, pumpkin spice, the brisk air, being able to wear pants and not sweat to death, what’s not to love? With a new season comes new intentions, new experiences, and new challenges. I think for myself, this is definitely a time to self-reflect and shed some much needed extra weight. I’m sad about losing my tan and I don’t want to lose my summer glow. This is a new season time to create a new inner glow.

This fall in particular feels like a much needed transitional phase of my journey. I had a rough summer, I focused on working, and took little time to myself. Now that I feel as if I’ve gotten over that hump, I’m determined to make the best of this new season. I’m officially over my 6 month hump in therapy and man it has revealed so much about me, my journey, and how far I have to go.I really want to dig into fall and the beautiful things that take place during the season. Here’s my list of fall favorites:

1.First of all Hocus Pocus is on all October long. Pop a bottle of apple cider for that alone. I grew up loving the characters, the music and everything about the sassy ladies of Salem. It's a timeless classic.

2..Pants, Jackets, and boots oh my! Fall fashion is the most highly anticipated time of year. Being able to layer, experiment with fabric, fall fashion is the business! I personally love a good pair of leggings, sweaters, and style boots. What’s your fall fashion go-to?

3.There goes the light bill..can we have a praise break for the decrease in the electricity bill? The cost of AC running all day. Also,praises be to not having to use the heat just yet. Enjoy the crisp breeze through the window before old man winter comes.

4.Fall fun is upon us! My goal is to visit a pumpkin patch, roll around in some leaves,and for sure not attend any ones haunted houses! Nope Im not paying anyone to scare me. If you do attend have fun for me that's a no can do on my list.

5. Edges can finally lay!! No sweaty face so I can finally go back to straightening my tresses and enjoy styling. No more worries about my hair sweating out as soon as I hit the door.

6. Goodbye barbecue, hello comfort food and crock pots. I love mac n cheese but I’m so ready for hot cocoa and chicken and dumplings.

7. Pumpkin spice my life! If you don’t agree you can beat it ! its spicy yet creamy it relaxes me and the scent smells of autumn goodness.

8. Back to basics, its kickback time. I’m not into clubs and bars so what better way to reconnect with your squad? Board games, snacks, jokes nothing beats a great night in.

9. Holiday prep...I’m so ready to change the decor in my home. I want leaves here, orange and green and burgundy everywhere. Before you know it, I'll be pulling thee old tree out of the storage closet. I love buying fall scented candles having my throw blankets on the couch making my house feel all cozy.

10. New beginning new season a new chance to shed some old habits and hopefully begin a new chapter that will bring you joy.

Now it wouldn’t be a blog of mine without a little mental health lesson right? Fall means changes in weather, changes in light, and these can affect your mood. It gets darker outside much earlier. Hell, I was so confused last year I was dressed for bed by 6:00p.m. Please remember the power of vitamin D…...take that how you want. I’m referring to vitamins, and getting enough natural sunlight. We forget how much sunlight can help improve our moods. Also sex..just throwing that out there. I’m just saying the natural production of happy hormones ...instant mood booster.

Fall is a good time to set some intentions, and focus on some goals. It’s so much more time spent indoors, use it to your advantage. I started an intentions/gratitude journal. I document what things i want to manifest and the things I am currently grateful for. Take some time to really listen to yourself as you sip on something pumpkin spice. Self care is not a luxury, it is a necessity.

Fall self care tips

Take more baths

Jump in some leaves revisit your childhood

Get creative,start an artistic project

Watch some fun fall movies

Visit an apple farm/pumpkin patch

Spend some time writing and releasing anything that doesn’t serve you

Visit some beautiful outdoor parks where you can see the leaves

Self care doesn’t have to cost ! Just do it and fall in love with autumn.

bottom of page