top of page

The return of B.E.T?

I was waiting to see the ridiculous lace fronts and overly corny award presenters, but what I got was an unexpected gift. Black Entertainment Television celebrates 40 years of excellence this year as well as the 20th anniversary of the B.E.T Awards in 2020. Due to the Covid-19 the entire show was via satellite/pre recorded performances. For the first time in years I gave the B.E.T Awards a ⅘ stars.

Let's get into these performances. These social distant performances were probably more creative visually than anything I’ve seen from B.E.T in a lonnnng time. It seems as if everyone’s creative teams took a little more time to carefully think out these performances. The song choices, the wardrobe, the sets, were all part of a narrative, the narrative being Black Lives Matter, we deserve the right to live, and grow in an equal society. There were so many great performers but I’d have to say the opening of the show featuring Public Enemy, Rhapsody, The Roots,and how about Gospel singer Keedron Bryant? This opening was a powerful beginning to a beautiful night for our culture.I felt the fire stirring in my heart seeing those images cross the television screen. The performance from DaBaby struck a nerve as well as the artistry of Alicia Keys. Consider it a wake up call from these artists, it’s time for all of us to get involved in one way or another. This is about all of us, injustice affects us all.

Throughout the show, there were several commercials shining light on African American causes, and artists. Companies were pushing for equality and peace, giving our stories a platform to reach mass audiences. I’ve never seen so many commercials featuring black boys and girls. Companies like Nissan, McDonald’s, P&G, Burger King, Coca Cola telling our stories. Why can’t we get more B.E.T like this? An award show that had comedic moments, creative visuals, dope artists, and pure blackness is what we needed at this moment. Now of course I wouldn’t be me if I wasn’t just a tad shady so here it goes…..

I am not an Amanda Seales fan, except on Insecure. I know, I know you all love her. For this show I would have rather seen Queen Latifah return as host or even Badu. Several of her jokes and rants just didn’t do it for me. Sorry sis, keep doing you though! Also I know we are on quarantine but if you’re going to be on a show via satellite be red carpet ready because you know internet trolls (self included) are going to clock the make-up, hair and wardrobe. I’ll give it to you Black stars, you done pretty good…..most of you.

Back to the praises, we’re celebrating black excellence here. As I was scrolling through the internet to see some reactions, I was in shock. One of the first sites that commented was CNN. Never have I seen an article on CNN in reference to anything B.E.T related. CNN praised the network for spotlighting the cultural relevance of the production. Of course black twitter went hard as ever, I appreciate the brutal honesty of Black Twitter. It’s like a family reunion when we come together to watch a show together. This show had a huge increase of viewers in comparison to the past few years.

Was it the virtual aspect that made people curious, or the fact that Beyonce’ Giselle Knowles-Carter was receiving the Humanitarian of the Year Award? Either way we tuned it, and whether you loved or hated the show, you showed up. My question now is how, or is B.E.T going to keep moving in this direction? Is the network going to produce more programs that uplift, encourage, and pay homage to our struggles as opposed to exploiting them like other networks?

Like many people I had completely cut B.E.T. out of my diet. I watch B.E.T. annually for this show when I’m at my mother’s (because not paying for it) house. Over time the vision of what B.E.T was supposed to be was lost. That usually happens when Black companies sell to their white counterparts. Nonetheless, I think this is the perfect time to restore B.E.T. invest more time developing new writers/directors. I cannot deal with another Tyler Perry series. There’s so many artists of color grinding to get the opportunity to get their ideas picked up. No shade to Tyler Perry but Bruh….get some new fresh writers on your team !

To all of my beautiful people of color, Black people especially keep this energy going, keep recycling black dollars, say their names! Now is not the time to slack up! The bright spot tonight was the smiling brown faces, witnessing the first black Valedictorian from Princeton University be recognized, and my forever FLOTUS showing off her beautiful coils. Although I missed the red carpet and watching the audience interaction, I loved the B.E.T. Awards 2020! Thank you for all the memories. Sidebar may we have a moment of silence to the BET shows we grew up on Cita’s World, 106 & Park, Hitz From the Streetz, Rap City, …..Most respect to the most underrated show on B.ET….B..E.T uncut give UnCut all the flowers and accolades!

Until next time peace and love

xoxo-Sam

Oh and for a 50% discount code for the lace fronts wigs at my favorite store scroll down!

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Arrest the police who killed Breyonaa Taylor!

bottom of page